Harindra Joe Fernando, “Intraseasonal Disturbances and their Role in Air-Sea Processes of Equatorial Atmosphere and Oceans”

Joe Fernando Headshot

Harindra Joe Fernando presents his research project, “Intraseasonal Disturbances and their Role in Air-Sea Processes of Equatorial Atmosphere and Oceans," to an interdisciplinary group of scholars, artists, and scientists comprised of fellows, guest faculty, and students.

If you'd like to attend this event, please contact Carolyn Sherman at to confirm space availability.

Professor Fernando is the Wayne and Diana Murdy Endowed Professor in the College of Engineering, with Endowed Professorships in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences and the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering. He is a concurrent Professor in the Department of Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics. Recently, he has been an investigator of four large multidisciplinary research projects funded by the Office of Naval Research. Currently, he also leads the US component of an international project funded by the National Science Foundation.

Professor Fernando has published more than 300 archival papers spanning some 55 different international journals covering basic fluid dynamics, experimental methods, oceanography, atmospheric sciences, environmental sciences and engineering, air pollution, alternative energy sources, acoustics, heat transfer and hydraulics, and river and fluids engineering. He serves on the editorial boards of a number of journals, and is currently the Editor-in-Chief of the Environmental Fluid Dynamics journal.


Among awards and honors, Professor Fernando has received the UNESCO Gold Medal for the Best Engineering Student of the Year (1979), Presidential Young Investigator Award (NSF, 1986), Arizona State University Alumni Distinguished Research Award (1997), Rieger Foundation Distinguished Scholar Award in Environmental Sciences (2001), William Mong Lectureship from the University of Hong Kong (2004), and Life Time Achievement Award from the Sri Lanka Foundation of the USA (2007). He is a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), American Physical Society (APS), American Meteorological Society (AMS), and American Association for Advancement in Science (AAAS). He was elected to the European Academy in 2009 and was awarded Doctor Honoris Causa by the Universite Joseph Fourier (University of Grenoble, France) in 2014 and Doctor of Laws, Honoris Causa by the University of Dundee in 2016.