2020-2021 Faculty Fellows

Pete Buttigieg

  • Politician
  • Former South Bend Mayor and Democratic Presidential Candidate
  • "Principles of Trust for the 2020s"

Katlyn Carter

  • University of Notre Dame
  • Assistant Professor of History
  • "Truth and Trust in the Age of Revolutions”

Ted Chiang

  • Science Fiction Writer
  • Author of "Stories of Your Life and Others" and "Exhalation"

Sara Konrath

  • Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy
  • Associate Professor of Philanthropic Studies
  • “Changes over Time in Empathic, Generous, and Trusting Behaviors in the United States”

Barbara Lauriat

  • King's College London
  • Senior Lecturer in Law
  • “Global Arbiters of Reasonableness and Selectors of Standards--Technology and Trust”

Aaron Michka

  • University of Michigan
  • Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology
  • “Un-Islamic: Christian Life and Religious Difference in an Upper Egyptian Society”

Mutale Nkonde

  • Berkman Klein Center of Internet and Society at Harvard University
  • Founding CEO of AI for the People
  • “Facial Recognition Tool Kit: A Guide for Black and Other Advocates of Color”

Hollie Nyseth Brehm

  • The Ohio State University
  • Associate Professor of Sociology
  • “Reentry and Reintegration of People Convicted of Genocide”

Robert Orsi

  • Northwestern University
  • Grace Craddock Nagle Chair of Catholic Studies and Professor of Religious Studies, History, and American Studies
  • “Give Us Boys”

Michael Robillard

  • University of Oxford
  • Research Fellow at the Uehiro Center for Practical Ethics
  • “Privacy, Social Knowledge, and Accountability: Building Trustworthy Institutions in the Age of Big Data”

Walter J. Scheirer

  • University of Notre Dame
  • Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering
  • “Those Who See, Think They Know Beyond Mistake: Visual Media and Trust”

Thomas W. Simpson

  • University of Oxford
  • Associate Professor of Philosophy and Public Policy
  • “Faith, Flag, Family: Sources of Civic Trust”

Denise Walsh

  • University of Virginia
  • Associate Professor of Politics and Women, Gender & Sexuality
  • “Weaponizing Rights: The Politics of Debating Culture and Women’s Rights in Liberal States”

2020-2021 Notre Dame Graduate Fellows

Melissa Coles

  • Department of History
  • History and theology of interreligious pilgrimages

J. Columcille (Colum) Dever

  • Department of Theology
  • Theological interpretations of Tertullian’s "Adversus Marcionem"

Patrick Graff

  • Department of Sociology
  • Educational inequality, teacher turnover, and the organizational conditions of K-8 schools

Sam Grieggs

  • Department of Computer Science and Engineering
  • Automated historical document analysis

Kristin M. Haas

  • Department of Theology
  • Christian approaches to the natural world, language, and gender

Ross Jensen

  • Department of Philosophy
  • Ecologically-informed neo-Aristotelian ethics and politics

Sara Judy

  • Department of English
  • Twentieth and twenty-first century American poetry and poetics

Megan Levis

  • Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Multi-scale coordination of cell communication

Nicholas Roberts

  • Department of History
  • Global history of the Omani Empire in the nineteenth century

Emily Smith

  • Department of History
  • Twentieth-century American history, women, maternity, and reproduction

Dominique Vargas

  • Department of English
  • Uses of the corporeal body in contemporary literature by women

Luiz Vilaça

  • Department of Sociology
  • Anti-corruption reform in Brazil

2020-2021 Notre Dame Undergraduate Fellows

Patrick Aimone

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Evangelia Analitis

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Aderogba Ayoola

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Nelson Badillo

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Alyson Chin

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Carolyn Davin

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Mykayla Geary

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Brigid Harrington

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

William LaMarra

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Mia Lecinski

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Margaret McGreevy

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Julia McKenna

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Angela Opoku Dapaah

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Mariana Silva

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Lillian Witte

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow

Blake Ziegler

  • Undergraduate Research Fellow